The Next Big Thing

Author Colette Saucier (my mother) tagged me in her blog post for The Next Big Thing.

As is required by such an honor, here are my answers:

What is the working title of your book?

I’m working on a trilogy, the first volume of which is titled Nocturne. I’m at a loss as to what title to give the series and will probably seek my mother’s council to that effect.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

The idea came to me originally when I was 19: I was reading a lot of fantasy, fairy tales, and fan fiction and was constantly scribbling timelines and scenes for stories in spiral notebooks.

What genre does your book fall under?

Originally, I would have said “Young Adult” but I believe it’s more befitting the emerging “New Adult” genre, in Fantasy.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I took this question very seriously and searched all over IMDB for actors of the correct age and appearance.

Going by their profile pictures and past work alone, I’d say Georgie Henley and Ben Barnes.

I’m firm on Georgie, as she has both the look and the intelligence I imagine for the character of Hannah. I’m bowing to popular public opinion on Barnes: he has the dark looks and, judging from his past work, has no trouble playing a more haunted role, which is a definite requirement.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

A fairy tale fractured by the fear: is the man of Hannah’s dreams one of magic or madness?

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Once completed, the first volume will be published by our label: Southern Girl Press.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I’m three months into my work on the first draft: the problem with writing the first volume of a series is I keep getting drawn into playing with bits for the sequels!

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

While not itself a vampire novel, I would say Nocturne is comparable to the original Vampire Diaries trilogy that I read when I was young (NOT the new additions, which deviate greatly from the first three), though perhaps more like the Vampire Academy series in terms of content.

The Fallen series also comes to mind.

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

Not to sound too self-indulgent, but the honest answer is my young adult self.

On a visit back home at the start of the year I took a dive into my old “writers trunk” that remains hidden in cobwebby abyss of my parents’ garage. Within it was the original treatment I wrote for this series, from almost ten years ago. Giving it a read, I found I was drawn into the story almost as if it had been written by a stranger, and yet I remembered details I’d meant to include, images I’d failed to describe in my brief synopsis, and I decided to begin again.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

With the emergence of the New Adult genre writers are given the freedom to tell their stories without attempting to confine it to a certain age range of reader.  Nocturne is (or will be) a bit darker than The Chronicles of Narnia, the protagonists more adult than those in Harry Potter, but the subject matter is nowhere near as adult as A Song of Ice and Fire. (Though I’d like to note that I am a huge fan of all three.)

In the end, I believe the story will appeal to many age groups. It is, at heart, a bit fantasy, a bit paranormal,  and a bit adventure: a little something for all genres and, I hope, a distracting bit of escapism for future readers.

Tags are here for Colette Saucier who tagged me.

And also: Tag you’re IT now!

Randi Newton

Veronica Singleton

Anne Machaud

Britt Skrabanek

Suzan Tisdale 

Rules of The Next Big Thing

***Use this format for your post ***

Answer the ten questions about your current WIP (Work In Progress)

***Tag five other writers/bloggers and add their links so we can hop over and meet them.

Ten Interview Questions for The Next Big Thing:

What is the working title of your book?

Where did the idea come from for the book?

What genre does your book fall under?

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Include the link of who tagged you and this explanation for the people you have tagged.

Leave a Reply

